Kyrgyzstan: University-based Learning of Community Media Specialists

24 November 2019

On 2 November 2019, UNESCO Almaty and Association of Community Media of Kyrgyzstan will launch the "University-based Learning of Community Media Specialists" project supported by the International Programme for the Development of the Communication (IPDC).

45 teachers of the journalism faculties/chairs, participants of the training will work together in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan on 2-3, 9-10 and 23-24 November 2019 respectively to develop a community media curriculum in 12 journalism universities adapted to the conditions of the Kyrgyz Republic based on the UNESCO model of journalism education. The UNESCO’s “Community Radio Journalism” model curriculum will be used as a basis. Universities involved in the project:
  1. Kyrgyz National University named after J. Balasagyn, Bishkek
  2. Kyrgyz State University named after I. Arabaev, Bishkek
  3. International University of Kyrgyzstan, Bishkek
  4. Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University, Bishkek
  5. Kyrgyz-Kuwait University named after M. Kashgari, Bishkek
  6. Kyrgyz-Turkish University "Manas", Bishkek
  7. American University of Central Asia, Bishkek
  8. Osh State University, Osh
  9. Kyrgyz-Turkish Faculty, Specialty Journalism, Osh
  10. Bishkek Humanitarian University, Bishkek
  11. International University "Ala-Too", Bishkek
  12. University of Central Asia, Naryn
UNESCO’s International Programme for the Development of the Communication (IPDC) supported the "University-based Learning of Community Media Specialists in Kyrgyzstan" project at its 63rd Meeting, which was held on 19-20 June 2019 in Paris. The project contributes to the development of pluralistic media and communication for sustainable development (SDG16) and sets the international standards of teaching and training of the media outlets in Kyrgyzstan.

Permanent link: